In the kitchen

A Stab in the Back

” I talked to my back and asked it why it was giving me pain. I talked to the pain and asked it what it was doing and what it wanted. I waited.”

the voice in my head

Since Mother’s Day 2009 I have seldom had back pain.  If I do, I can usually trace it to emotional stress, and get rid of it.

One night about three years ago, I went to a party.  I didn’t want to go, didn’t want to be there and didn’t fit. I felt stupid and stupider and by the time I got home, I felt stupidest of all.

That night a searing pain started in my back.  It kept up for days.

I tried everything.  I told my mind to back off.  I told my mind that I knew there was nothing wrong with me.  Nothing.  I told my mind I wouldn’t have anything to do with it, so it might as well leave off.

I ignored the pain and carried on as usual.

After days with no change or let-up, I tried a different approach.  I lay on the floor…

View original post 109 more words

One thought on “A Stab in the Back

Leave a Reply

